Weekly Writing Challenge: DNA Analysis

When I glance in the mirror, I see ………

Years now, I always wanted to write this.  I probably waited for the right time.

As I grew up I always thought, why did I not resemble my mother … for the beauty she is.  Was just bless to inherit her dimpled smile.  Used to question myself and of course god about the DNA I could not pick up from her.  Knowing her as a Confident, Bold, Positive Mommy an EX-military women,  All India winner in horse riding and rifle shooting.  Of course also the sports background she had. An artist and a beautiful painter too. 

As a child,  I started being good in sports.  Won all the prizes, matched up horse riding.  However, could not meet the Military entrance requirements for the very good height I lacked 😦  Again DNA did not match up with hers.  As I grew young, I started matching the Artistic DNA of mom.  I was happy that DNA has started playing a role now.

Although 9 years back, bad luck struck our family and my very active super mom got a stroke attack and was affected on the right side.  She was completely bed ridden.  Doctors declared that very meek chances of her getting up and doing the normal chores.  It was the most difficult thing for us to digest.  As a daughter I always gathered all my courage  from her.  And now it was my chance to stay strong for the difficult time we were going through.  It was 1 month later that, my mom rised up against all odds of her health and fought back against the stroke. Surprised the doctor too 🙂   Today though she is not 100 percent ok but never ever depends on anyone for her daily chores at home.  She never  misses out a chance to even dance with her grandchildren. 

Few months back I was detected with bulges on my spinal and lumbar disc.  Doctors said I should avoid photography and my artwork as it might affect the nerves which were getting pressed.  My world was spinning.  It is difficult to let go your passion.  After almost a month’s bed rest I made my mind towards having a strong will power and positive attitude.  Here I am towards my recovery and the camera and my brush in hand.

After all this, my forte in sports, art from my mom’s DNA, the DNA that superseded is Being Strong, Positive Attitude and WillpowerYes the most amazing DNA I could ever get from my mom.  Of course the photography DNA came from Dad 😛

  My mom always tells me … If you have the Will you get the power to do it.  

Happy that I could inherit her most important DNA for a better future. Love my mother for the person she has made me today.

 

 

Leave a Reply

